- by Eli Moore Traffic Attorney
DRUNK DRIVING: THE ZERO TOLERANCE LAW
The statistics relating to car accidents and teens driving under the influence of alcohol are devastating. About 2,000 Americans under the age of 21 die behind the wheel while intoxicated each year and almost 20% of alcohol-related driving deaths are caused by individuals under 21 years of age.
New York State has especially stringent DWI laws to prevent such tragedies. In New York, it is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 to be driving with any alcohol in their bloodstream. In addition, there are stronger penalties for anyone under the age of 21 who disregards this zero tolerance law and is convicted of driving while intoxicated.
If you are convicted of underage drinking while driving, you can face a one year license revocation, a $125 civil penalty and a $100 license termination fee. If you are under the age of 21 and are pulled over with a blood alcohol level .05 or greater, you can be charged with driving while your ability is impaired or with driving while intoxicated and you can be prosecuted in a criminal court.
If you are a parent, be sure you emphasize to your children who are 21 and under that they must not drink and drive. If you or a loved one is under 21 and has been charged with drinking while driving, contact an experienced traffic lawyer to prevent you from having your license suspended.
#trafficlawyerbronx #westchestertrafficlaw #trafficattorneyinWestchester #trafficlawyerwestchestercounty #Harrisontrafficlawyer #WhitePlainstrafficlawyer #scarsdaletrafficlawyer #Eastchestertrafficlawyer #Greenburghtrafficlawyer #DWI #DUI #drunkdriving