WHY YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO DRIVE WITHOUT CAR INSURANCE
The first thing New York police will do if they pull you over on the road is ask for your car insurance. Since driving without auto insurance is a criminal offense in New York, if you fail to provide proof of owning it, the consequences are considerable: The ramifications of driving without car insurance can include:
$150-$1,500 penalty, plus additional costs to restore your license
Up to 15 days in jail
Suspension or revocation of your car registration
Suspension of your driver's license
Impounding your car
Confiscating your license plates
There are numerous reasons why you may have an insurance lapse, such as:
1. There could be a gap between the date your previous car insurance was cancelled and your new insurance begins.
2. You may have your car insurance payments automatically deducted from a credit card and forgotten to update your insurance company with your new credit card number when your old card expired or was stolen.
3. Your registration expired.
Whatever the reason for your car insurance lapse, you'll need to immediately prove to the DMV that you now have insurance in order to resolve your problem. Check out all the details about steps to take at the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles's website: https://dmv.ny.gov/insurance/insurance-lapsesIf. Also, be sure to contact an experienced traffic lawyer to help you handle issues relating to a suspended or revoked license. Expert assistance can make the difference between whether or not you are allowed to drive in the near future.
#westchestertrafficlawyer #westchestertrafficattorney #trafficattorneywestchesterny #trafficlawyersinwestchesterny #trafficattorneywestchester #whiteplainstrafficlawyer #newrochelletrafficattorney #bronxtrafficlawyer #trafficattorneyinWestchester #trafficlawyerwestchestercounty #carinsurance #licensesuspensions #revokedlicense #carregistration #insurancelapse #NYSDMV