- Eli Moore Traffic Attorney
How the NYS Driver Point System Works
New York State's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) uses the Driver Violation Point System to identify and protect against high risk drivers. Certain traffic violations are assigned points to prevent the repeated behavior of problem drivers and to improve traffic safety.
There are costly penalties associated with being convicted of traffic violations. If you receive 6 or more points during an 18-month period, you must pay a Driver's Responsibility Assessment Fee. If you get 11 points added to your driving record in an 18-month period, your driver's license may be suspended. These fees are in addition to any fines or penalties you must pay traffic court for a traffic conviction. Insurance companies often increase auto insurance premiums when points are added to your driving record.
Here are the number of points assigned to common traffic violations in New York State:
Speeding (MPH over posted limit)
1 to 10 miles--3
11 to 20 miles--4
21 to 30 miles--6
31 to 40 miiles--8
Over 40 miles--11
Failed to stop for school bus--5
Improper cell phone use--5
Use of portable electronic device "texting"--5
Railroad crossing violation--5
Failed to yield right-of-way--3
Crossing a red light--3
Improper passing, changing lane unsafely--3
Driving left of center, in wrong direction--3
Leaving scene of property damage incident--3
Child safety restraint violation--3
Inadequate Brakes (employer's vehicle)--2
Most other moving violation--2
Failure to signal--2
Disobeying a traffic control device--2
You must be convicted of a traffic violation before points are added to your driving record. It is always wise to consult a traffic lawyer before pleading guilty to a traffic violation. If you are a Westchester County or New York City resident, please contact me for a free consultation at 914-523-5552 or EliMooreLaw@gmail.com.
Also, be sure to read: "Are You at Risk of Getting a Traffic Ticket? Take This Quiz!" "Don't Plead Guilty to a Traffic Ticket before Reading This!"