Understanding New York Point System
Understanding New York Point System New York has a driver violation point system which assigns points to drivers for certain moving violations. If you receive 11 points in an 18 month period your license will be suspended. If you receive 6 points in an 11 month period you will have to pay a driver responsibility assessment fee of $300. Below is a list of traffic violations and the point penalties from
You are able to automatically reduce your point total by 4 points through the point and insurance reduction program also known as the defensive driving course. However, your violation will stay on your record if you get convicted and will continue to affect your insurance premiums. Therefore, it is important to hire a traffic attorney who can work towards reducing or eliminating traffic points which will save you from both license suspensions and increased fees.