- by Eli Moore Westchester and New York City Traffic
Driving While Intoxicated on New Year's Eve: The Risks are Real
New Year's Eve is one of the most dangerous days of the year to drive. Planning for transportation is just as important as planning what you'll wear to your New Year's Eve celebrations.
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is both a high-risk activity that can lead to tragic accidents and health consequences. it is also a serious criminal offense with costly penalties. As you can see from below, the fine for DWI (also called DUI-for Driving Under the Influence) depends on the level of your intoxication and the number of previous offenses:
Aggravated Driving while Intoxicated - .18% and higher Blood Alcohol Content
*1st offense: $1,000- $2,500 fine, up to one year in jail and minimum one year revocation of license.
*2nd offense within 10 years is a felony: $1,000- $5,000 fine, up to 4 years in jail and minimum 18 month revocation of license.
Driving while Intoxicated or Impaired by a drug - .08% and higher Blood Alcohol Content
*1st offense: $500- $1,000 fine, up to one year in jail and minimum 6 month revocation of license.
*2nd offense within 10 years is a felony: $1,000- $5,000 fine, up to 4 years in jail and minimum 1 year revocation of license.
Driving while Impaired with BOTH alcohol and drugs
*1st offense: $500-$1,000 fine, up to one year in jail, 6 month revocation of licenseand minimum
*2nd offense within 10 years: $1,000- $5,000 fine, up to 4 years in jail and minimum 1 year revocation of license.
Driving while Ability Impaired (DWAI) - .05% - .08% Blood Alcohol Content
*1st offense: $300- $500 fine, up to 15 days in jail and 90 day suspension of license
*2nd offense: $500- $750 fine, up to 30 days in jail, and minimum of 6 month revocation of license.
There is no doubt that one of the smartest moves you can make when making plans to attend a New Year's Eve celebration or any party, is to designate a driver who commits to staying sober or arranging to travel by Uber, Lyft, Via, or a local car service. Another option is to arrange to sleep at a nearby hotel, inn, or AirB&B.
If you drop drive while intoxicated and are charged with DWI or DUI, be sure to hire an experienced traffic attorney to help you avoid major legal and monetary consequences. If you have been charged in Westchester County or New York City, please contact me at (914) 725-0028 for a free consultation. There are ways that I can help you minimize the consequences of a DWI arrest.
#trafficlawyerwestchestercounty #trafficattorneyinWestchester #westchestertrafficlaw #trafficlawyerbronx #licensesuspensionsnewrochelle #trafficattorneywestchester #westchestertrafficlawyer #westchestertrafficattorney #trafficattorneywestchesterny #DWI #DWIlawyer #DUI #NewRochelleTrafficLawyer